XI FIP World Polo Championship Zone D Playoffs
View this email in your browser
Follow the event

New Zealand became the 4th qualified team to the FIP World Polo Championship


Thursday 2nd at Thai Polo & Equestrian Club
Report by Peter Abisheganaden, Zone D Playoffs Tournament Director.

The Zone D Playoff got off to a furious start at the Thai Polo & Equestrian Club in Pattaya, Thailand on Thursday, 2nd February. The very first play of the day saw New Zealand's Henry Jones fail to avoid a fast-moving goal-post. A cut on his cheek delayed the game for a few minutes before the bleeding was staunched and an elastoplast applied.  Malaysia's Saladin Mazlin was next to inspect the turf, as a collision with the flying Henry Jones meant another delay, not three minutes into the game.
As the game settled down, it was the New Zealand team that took control. Three goals in the first, meant they led Malaysia 3 - 1 1/2 in the first chukka. The two teams traded goals in the second chukka, ending it with the Kiwis leading 4 - 2 1/2. Malaysia mounted a comeback in the third chukka, getting within half a goal, 5 - 4 1/2 as the teams went into the half time break.
New Zealand captain Cody Forsyth came to the fore in the penultimate chukka, scoring two goals and making another for Henry Jones. Amran Selamat got a goal back for the Malaysians, but at 8 - 5 1/2 the writing was on the wall. Malaysia fought on valiantly in the final chukka. They peppered the New Zealand goal, hitting the post and missing narrowly, but the ball would not go in. A fourth goal for Henry Jones sealed the win for New Zealand. The 9 - 5 1/2 did not tell the story of what a close and exciting game it was for much of the match.
Cody Forsyth, a veteran of the game at age 57, was named Most Valuable Player, selected by the umpires Daniel Boudou, Steve Evans, referee Ben Turner, FIP President Nicholas Colquhoun Denvers and Zone D Director Peter Prendiville.
Dogo, and 8 year old Argentine gelding owned by Dato' Mohamed Moiz, was selected as the best playing pony.
New Zealand now joins defending champions Chile, hosts Australia, and Zone B winners Argentina in the final of the FIP World Polo Championships in Sydney, in October.

New Zealand: Henry Wood 2, Henry Jones 3 (4), Cody Forsyth 4 (2), Glenn Sherriff 5 (3). Total 14 goals.
Malaysia (1 1/2): Shaik Reismann 3, Amran Seiamat 3 (1), Prince Ahmad Shazril 3 (1), Saladin Mazlan 3 (2). Total 12 goals. 


Copyright © 2017 Federation of International Polo, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
Sinclair 3139 6°A
CABA 1425
Buenos Aires, Argentina

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Federation of International Polo (FIP) · Sinclair 3139 · Palermo, Buenos Aires C1425FRE · Argentina

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp