Forward to a Friend View in Browser
Logo Logo2
Congratulations 'Wheatbelt Secondary Freight Route'
$70 Million Federal Funding Announced
Deputy Prime Minister Michael McCormack, announced today in Mooliabeenie (Bindoon) that $70 million of funding will be allocated to Wheatbelt Secondary Freight Routes from the Australian Government’s Roads of Strategic Importance initiative.
RDA Wheatbelt congratulates the ‘Wheatbelt Secondary Freight Route’ (WSFR) Working Group, some of which have been progressing this project for up to six years. The WSFR encompasses 80 connecting routes with over 4,400 kms of roads across the 42 Shires of the Wheatbelt.
The WSFR group consists of representatives from the following organisations:
    -  Wheatbelt North Regional Road Group
    -  Wheatbelt South Regional Road Group
    -  Regional Development Australia (RDA) Wheatbelt Inc
    -  WA Local Government Association
    -  Main Roads WA - Wheatbelt Region
    -  Wheatbelt Development Commission

Regional Development Australia (RDA) Wheatbelt Inc recognised the dire conditions and implications of the state of the regions secondary freight routes whilst researching data for a submission to the ‘Inquiry into National Freight and Supply Chain Priorities’. High level engagement, consultation and attempts to source funding have been ongoing and treated as a high priority for RDA Wheatbelt.
In understanding the necessity to progress the initiative to a level where Federal funding can be accessed it was quickly realized that the blockage to engaging State and Federal funding bodies was to develop a comprehensive Business Case, including a cost benefit analysis. With no options available to fund development of the Business Case, in December 2016 the RDA Wheatbelt Committee allocated $96,800 of its own funds towards progressing this project, in addition to many hours of in kind support.
RDA Wheatbelt Chairman Tuck Waldron would like to recognise the contribution of all local governments involved “Collaboration across 42 local governments and the working group’s perseverance over the last six years has been a monumental effort and all involved in the project must be congratulated.”
Photo above: L-R  WSFR Group Members. Cr Wayne Gibson Shire of Dandaragan, Mandy Walker Director RDA Wheatbelt, Lyn Baker President Shire of Corrigin, Ricky Storer President Shire of Koorda, Katrina Crute President Shire of Brookton, Garrick Yandle CEO Shire of Kulin, Terry Waldron Chairman RDA Wheatbelt. Absent Ian Duncan WALGA, Elise Wood WDC and Craig Manton Main Roads.

Photo below: Hon Michael McCormack, Deputy Prime Minister and the Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development with RDA Wheatbelt Chairman Mr Terry (Tuck) Waldron.

RDA Wheatbelt Inc

RDA Wheatbelt Inc
logo Unsubscribe from this list  |  Update Profile
Regional Development Australia - Wheatbelt

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
RDA Wheatbelt Inc. · 3 Constable St · Gingin, WA 6503 · Australia

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp