shares information and her experience working at London Heritage Farm Society in Richmond, B.C.
When was London Heritage Farm built? When and how did it become a museum?
In 1881, the London brothers, Charles and William London, arrived and purchased 80 hectares on Lulu Island for $25.00/hectare. As a small house was built, the brothers began clearing and draining the land in preparation for farming. They also opened a store, operated a post office called London’s Landing
, and built a wharf from which they could ship out farm crops and receive supplies. Unfortunately, the small house was demolished, but the current house structure was added onto the original location in 1906.
The London Heritage Farm Society collaborated with the City of Richmond for several years to save the London Family Farmhouse. In 1978, the city purchased the house and 4.06 acres of the original farmland and registered it as a heritage site under the BC Heritage Act. Over the years, the Society furnished the house in the late Victorian era fashion in order to give visitors a glimpse of rural Richmond life during 1880's to 1930's.
Who lived and worked on the farm?
Charles and Edwin London were born in Brant County, Ontario and later moved to California in 1877. Travelling north to British Columbia, they decided to settle in Canada in search for agricultural opportunities such as in Richmond.
In 1888 Charles married Henrietta Dalzeil of Dalbeattie of Scotland and built the farmhouse that stands there today. Charles and Henrietta had eight children of whom three died in infancy. After Henrietta's death in 1916, the family stayed at the London Farm for three years before moving to Marpole area of Vancouver. However, in 1921, the eldest daughter Lucy and her husband, Herbert Howse, purchased the farm back to raise their family and farm. Sold in 1948, the Farmhouse was then rented by a series of families until its purchase by the City of Richmond in 1978.
Is the farm and house open to visitors? If so, what can visitors expect to experience?
The London Heritage Farmhouse is open to visitors on Saturday and Sunday during the winter until July 3rd, and Wednesday through Sunday from July 4th to August 31st. The museum is located on the upper floor of the house with six rooms displaying the furniture, pictures, clothing, quilts and everyday articles of the era, as well as many photographs of the London family.
Any up and coming events?
March 10 &11 -
British Teacakes Tea in the Tea Room (12:00 pm to 5:00 pm)
- Easter Tea in the Tea Room (12:00 pm to 5:00 pm)
- Easter Tea in the Tea Room (12:00 pm to 5:00 pm) and Annual Easter Egg Hunt
May 12 & 13
- Mother’s Day Tea in the Tea Room (12:00 pm to 5:00 pm) and 12th
Annual Plant Sale (10:00 am to 4:00 pm)
- Strawberry Tea in the Tea Room (12:00 pm to 5:00 pm)
- Strawberry Tea in the Tea Room (12:00 pm to 5:00 pm) and Classic Car Show (10:00 am to 3:00 pm)
How can guests be more involved in historical sites such as London Heritage Farm?
The London Heritage Farm Society encourages members and the public with a variety of interests and skills to volunteer! If you are interested in volunteering and becoming a member of the London Heritage Farm Society, please check out our website at londonheritagefarm.ca
and complete the enquiry form in our Membership page. Ongoing activities include assisting in the Tea Room, flower heritage gardens, and clean-up work parties post events and weddings.
What do you like most about working at London Heritage Farm?
I love introducing people to the charm of this beautiful home and farm. To sit in the tea room and enjoy London Lady Tea served in the afternoon. As you look through lace curtains to see the stunning flower garden and transported in time and traditions. It is a treasured experience.
Where can I find out more about London Heritage Farm?
Facebook: London Heritage Farm @LondonHeritageFarm
Twitter: London Heritage Farm @LondonFarmBC