Copy





5
 


Hello, 

We regret the auto-correct error last week that rendered "foc'sle" as "focsle." A forecastle, which is the upper deck of a sailing ship that is in front of the foremast and which is commonly abbreviated in pirate talk as 'foc'sle' and even 'fo'c's'le (which is probably two more apostrophes than any word really needs), is much different than a 'focsle,' which is a small bump that can arise on the bridge of a nose as a result of too much stress tension and head-shaking and which can prevent the proper slippage of one's glasses down one's nose when attempting a dismissive and derisive glance. We apologize for the error, and appreciate the keen eyed readers who pointed out this technological misprint. 

Our excuse is that we were busy with our Coloring Autumn event, and we can happily report that it was a rousing success. So much so that we’re doing another one on November 5th. Yep, more coloring, more snacks, more beverages, and more blissed out adults. Perfect way to ease into the shorter days and darker nights. 

Speaking of shorter days, we’re starting Dawn Society meetings next week. Wednesday mornings from 7:30am until around 9:00am, we’ll have the store open for the high school students who are wondering how to entertain themselves until school actually starts (ooh, the pesky late start days!). There will be book talk and donuts and more book talk. There will even be cool little passports for the new society members with prizes and stickers and stuff. Every Wednesday. For the teens! (There’s a mangled Hudsucker Proxy reference there for the Coen Brothers fans on the list.)

Next weekend is the annual Autumn Evening fall shopping extravaganza. The downtown businesses will be open a few hours later on Saturday, October 3rd, and in the store, we’ll have Portland author Ken Scholes from 3pm - 7pm. Ken is the author of The Psalms of Isaac fantasy series, and local publisher Fairwood Press has done three collections of Ken’s whimsical and heartbreaking speculative short fiction. In fact, the latest collection—Blue Yonders, Grateful Pies, and Other Fanciful Feasts—was just released a month or so ago and Ken will be happily signing copies of that book. When he isn’t singing and playing his guitar and wailing away on his harmonica. Because he’s that sort of multi-talented performer. Did we mention he used to be Baptist preacher? True story. 

And don’t forget that the following weekend will be the annual Sumner Library Write in the Valley meet and greet. This year’s topic is “Surviving the Jungles of Publishing,” and local authors Joe Beernick, Adrianne Lee, Patrick Swenson, and that dude who hangs out in the bookstore a lot will be telling stories about their time in publishing. 

Hey, did you know that Patrick Swenson, in addition to being the author of The Ultra Thin Man, a clever future-noir tale now out in paperback, is the publisher of Fairwood Press? The very press that put out Ken Scholes’ collection? Did you also know that Patrick is up for a World Fantasy Award this year for his work with Fairwood Press? You should totally mob him and make squee! noises, because this is a kind of a big deal. 

As to books in the store, we’ve gotten a few copies of the first Poldark novel again. You know, the one with  Ross looking all stern and sexy? That one. We know a few of you have been waiting to read all three of the books, and now you can! We’re also gearing up for the holiday season and have brought in some Ravensburger puzzles. The 500 and 1,000 piece kind, because nothing says “Come over for the holidays and stay for a few weeks” like an unfinished puzzle on the dining room table. 

Spooky artist Gris Grimly has been illustrating a bunch of classics over the last year or so, and we’ve managed to wrangle a stack of them for this Halloween season. There are two Edgar Allen Poe books, Ray Bradbury’s The Halloween Tree, the Sherlock Holmes adventure A Study in Scarlet, and both Frankenstein and The Legend of Sleepy Hollow

Elizabeth Gilbert’s Big Magic, which says that it has the secret to “Creative Living Beyond Fear,” is out now as is Jenny Lawson’s Furiously Happy. One has an overexcited raccoon on the cover, and the other one is covered with paint splotches. Both make us happy, which is all we really ever ask of books, right? And speaking of colorful covers for otherwise serious books, Claire Vaye Watkins’ Gold Fame Citrus comes out on Tuesday. Early reviews say such things like “luminous” and “exhilarating,” and “a sun-drenched fever dream.” Fans of Emily St John Mandel’s Station Eleven and Edan Lepucki’s California will probably dig this. Both of you. 

Later in October, we’ll have a genre evening event for adults. More on that in the next week or so. Until then, love your books. They will love you back.



Overheard At The Store »»

Alice: Oh, look. The store is having an author visit. This lovely gentleman named Ken. Isn’t he . . . ?

Bob: No. It isn’t the same guy. 

Alice; Are you sure? He looks just like—

Bob: No. Absolutely not. And, um, we should go. I can’t be in the same state as him. We should take the boat out to international waters for a few days. 

Alice: Really? I thought . . . 

Bob: Just because they buried . . . well, never mind. That weird bookstore marmot fellow is probably hiding in the ceiling tiles, listening to us. 

Alice: Well, I’m disappointed, Bob. It sounds like it’ll be a nice evening of lively music and great stories. 

Bob: He’s a liar, Alice. Sure, he can put a few chords together, but you can’t believe anything he says. Trust me. There’s a whole town missing down in Oregon—just, never mind . . . 



•
•
•