IISL Newsletter
View this email in your browser
2015 no. 4
  • Notes and Announcements
  • IISL-ECSL Symposium
  • Elections
  • News from the North American Manfred Lachs Moot Court Regional
  • Diederiks-Verschoor Award Online
  • IISL President Recognized
  • Donations
  • Events Calendar
  • Member Highlights
Notes & Announcements

2015 IISL-ECSL Symposium

The annual IISL-ECSL Symposium will be held in VIenna, Austria in conjunction with the UNCOPUOS Legal Subcommittee on April 13, 2015. The theme of this year's symposium is Space Traffic Management.

Space Traffic Management (STM) is a concept, which emerged in the first decade of this century. The first comprehensive approach was presented in the 2006 study prepared by the International Academy of Astronautics with the involvement of numerous members of the International Institute of Space Law and the European Centre for Space Law. STM provides an approach to enter into, operate in and return from space, safe from any interference.

The Symposium provides a status report of the concept of STM and puts it into context of current discussions on the governance and regulation of space activities. It shall discuss the viability of the concept and its potential benefits. The question shall also be raised, when and under which conditions, States might be ready to negotiate a completely new set-up for space activities. The Symposium therefore will cast a look into the future but at the same time respond to regulatory needs of today.


Welcome by Chair LSC and Presidents IISL and ECSL
Kai-Uwe Schrogl, Tanja Masson-Zwaan, Sergio Marchisio

From the 2006 to the 2016 Space Traffic Management Studies of the International Academy of Astronautics
Corinne Jorgenson, Advancing Space

Rights and Obligations in the International Commons: the case of Outer Space
Stephan Hobe, University of Cologne

Space Safety and Space Traffic Management
Isabelle Rongier, International Association for the Advancement of Space Safety

Frequency Management and Space Traffic Management
Yvon Henri, International Telecommunication Union

Space Traffic Management and the governance of space activities
Guoyu Wang, Beijing Institute of Technology/Chatham House

ICAO/UNOOSA AeroSpace Symposium - an inter-agency effort on space traffic management
Simonetta Di Pippo/Niklas Hedman, OOSA

“Roadmap to the stars” - a Conference Report
Diane Howard, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University

Concluding Remarks
Tanja Masson-Zwaan, President IISL
Sergio Marchisio, President ECSL
Kai-Uwe Schrogl, Chair of the Legal Subcommittee of COPUOS



In accordance with the revised article 9 of the IISL By-Laws regarding the timing of the election process of the IISL Board of Directors, as said article was adopted by the General Assembly in October 2014 in Toronto, 2015 Board elections will take place between 15 June and 15 July. Nominations for candidates shall be submitted to the Election Committee till 15 May. Detailed information on the 2015 Board elections will follow soon.

Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition:
North American Regional Results

The North American Regional of the Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition was held on 20-21 March 2015.  Many thanks to the volunteer judges that took part in the competition.  Congratulations to all the teams for their hard work.  The results are as follows:
Winning Team: University of Mississippi

Runner-up: Georgetown University

Best Brief: McGill University

Best Oralist: Brad Powell, Georgetown University

Best New Team: Temple University



New Regional Organizer for the North-American Manfred Lachs Regional Round

After 24 years of unparalleled service, single handedly running the North American Regional Round of the IISL's Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition, Dr. M.L. Smith is handing the reins over to a successor. 

The IISL is pleased to announce that Mrs. M.V. Carminati is taking over as the new Regional Organizer. The IISL would like to thank Dr. Smith for his invaluable contributions. He has built a unique and enduring space law legacy. The IISL also wishes Mrs. Carminati the best of luck and looks forward to working with her for many years to come.

2014 D-V Award Paper Online

Joyeeta Chatterjee's "Legal Issues Relating To Unauthorised Space Debris Remediation" is now available throught the IISL website.  The paper received the 2014 Prof. Dr I.H.Ph. Diederiks-Verschoor Award.  THe award is granted annually by the IISL Board of Directors, and is given to the best paper accepted for presentation at the Institute's Colloquium by an author not older than 30 years and who has not published more than five papers in the Proceedings of IISL Colloquia.

Congratulations Joyeeta!

IISL President RecognizedDisplaying CBAz9dkXIAA8f5a.jpg

IISL President Tanja-Masson Zwaan has been honored with a Distinguished Service Award from the IAF.  The award was granted "For extraordinary dedication and commitment in service of the Federation in her function as President of the International Institute for Space Law (IISL), one of the Federation’s closest partner organisation, and as member of the IAF Bureau."  

More on the Award can be found at
Remember you can make a tax deductible donation to the IISL through the PayPal button on the IISL website.

IISL Board members at the Spring Board meeting.

Events Calendar

Member Highlights
  • All IISL Members are encouraged to update their personal profiles at
  • Board member Joanne Irene Gabrymowicz was recently featured in Space News.
  • ManSat CEO Chris Stott has been appointed Chairman of the Society of Satellite Professionals International, the satellite industry’s largest global professional association. His one-year term as Chairman comes as Chris finishes this year after having served one year as SSPI President. He has been a member of the SSPI for more than 20 years, and is Chairman of the organisation’s Isle of Man chapter, and has served as a Board member with the global SSPI for the last five years.
Contributions to the members area should be submitted by the 20th of the preceding month to be included in the Newsletter.  Contributions must abide by the guidelines and should be sent to
Copyright © 2015 International Institute of Space Law, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp