IISL Newsletter
View this email in your browser
2015 no. 5
  • Notes and Announcements
  • IISL Elections - Call for Candidates
  • New Members
  • IISL at the UNCOPUOS Legal Subcommittee
  • Donations
  • Events Calendar
  • Member Highlights
Notes & Announcements
  • The IISL is happy to welcome Christopher D. Johnson as the new Assistant Executive Secretary, Danielle Miller as Assistant Treasurer, and Nathan Johnson as the newest member to the Moot Court Committee. Congratulations to all, and welcome to the team!
  • The IISL is also happy to welcome Sylvia Ospina and Neta Palkovitz to the Membership Committee.
  • Members who are interested in being an IISL observer at the plenary meeting of UNCOPUOS on 11-20 June 2015 should email
  • Presentations from the 2015 IISL-ECSL Symposium on Space Traffic Management, held at the recent UN COPUOS Legal Subcommittee are available online.
  • IISL President T.L. Masson-Zwaan also briefed the UN COPUOS Legal Subcommittee, detailing the work of the IISL over the past year.
  • The report from the legal sessions of the recent International Conference on Climate Change and Disaster Management, co-organized by the IISL and held in Thiruvananthapuram, India on February 26-29 is now posted online
  • Officially endorsed by the UAE Space Agency and hosted by the Emirates Institution for Advanced Science and Technology (EIAST), the 5th Global Space and Satellite Forum (GSSF 2015) will bring together key regional and international stakeholders and decision makers from the space and satellite industry. IISL members receive a 20% discount on the attendance fee.
  • Remember as an IISL Member you are entitled to a 40% discount when you order The Proceedings of the IISL.
  • All IISL Members are encouraged to update their personal profiles and check their contact details at

IISL Elections - Call for Candidates

The IISL Election Committee has the honour of inviting IISL members to take part in the 2015 IISL Board election. All IISL Members are entitled to put themselves forward for the following elected positions on the Board: Vice-President (one position), Director (nine positions).

A candidate for a position on the Board is to fill out a nomination form (available on the IISL website at and to submit it, along with any requested attachment, to the Election Committee.

A candidate is to be nominated by an IISL Member in good standing and supported by five IISL Members in good standing, and must confirm that he/she agrees to be nominated. For further details please refer to the full terms of the IISL Statutes and By-Laws, available at

The 2015 candidates for the IISL Board membership are to send their nomination forms, providing all the requested information, along with a curriculum vitae or a biography or a statement of one page at most (in MS Word or PDF format) to the Election Committee at not later than 15 May 2015, with the subject line IISL Board Election.

In accordance with the IISL Statutes and By-Laws the Election Committee is authorised to draw up the list of qualifying candidates, supervise the election process and count the votes.

Voting shall take place between June 15 and July 15. During the 2015 Board election votes shall be cast by IISL Members in good standing electronically via the website.

We kindly remind you that nominations received after 15 May 2015 cannot be considered.

New Members

The IISL is happy to welcome its newest members:
Mr.  BERGAMASCO Federico
Mr. BOULLE Edmond
Mr. JOHNSON Nathan
Mr. KFIR Sagi
Mr. KUMAR Abhijeet
Ms. MOENS Sarah
Ms. RINNER Anita
Ms. VIANA Tatiana
Ms. AGARWAL Aakarshi (prospective member)

IISL/ECSL Symposia; Agenda Legal Subcommittee COPUOS

Following the IISL/ECSL Symposium on "Regulatory needs for very small satellites" (24 March 2014) at the occasion of the 53rd session of the Legal Subcommittee of COPUOS and the IISL/ECSL Symposium on “Space Traffic Management” at the occasion of the 54th session of the Legal Subcommittee of COPUOS (13 April 2015), the Legal Subcommittee has decided to put both topics of space traffic management and small satellites on its agenda for the following session, in 2016. For further information see 

This testifies to the increasing support that the International Institute of Space Law, together with its partner the European Centre for Space Law, is able to provide to the discussions at the Legal Subcommittee in enhancing the legal framework applicable to the peaceful uses of outer space. The IISL/ECSL Symposia are currently organized and coordinated by Prof. Dr. K.U. Schrogl, IISL Vice-President, and Prof. Dr. Sergio Marchisio, ECSL Chairman, in consultation with Mrs. T.L. Masson-Zwaan, IISL President, and the Coordination Committee of the Symposium. 
For more information on the 2014 IISL/ECSL Symposium and the presentations, see;

For more information on the 2015 IISL/ECSL Symposium and the presentations, see .

North American  Moot Court Regional

North American Regional Winner, University of Mississippi School of Law, with the final Round Judges. Mike Schlabs, Joanne Irene Gabrynowicz, and Jay Steptoe. 
Remember you can make a tax deductible donation to the IISL through the PayPal button on the IISL website.

Special Thank you to Diane Howard for her generous contribution.


Events Calendar

Member Highlights
Contributions to the members area should be submitted by the 20th of the preceding month to be included in the Newsletter. Contributions must abide by the guidelines and should be sent to
Copyright © 2015 International Institute of Space Law, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp