ACRS Patron: His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC
Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia


ACRS Press Release

08 September 2016
Professor Ann Williamson recognised with prestigious Australasian Road Safety Award
Congratulations to leading road safety advocate, Professor Ann Williamson, Director, Transport and Road Safety (TARS) Research Centre at the University of New South Wales, who was presented with the prestigious 2016 ACRS Fellowship at last night’s glittering ACRS Award Ceremony at Australia’s Parliament House.  The ceremony took place in front of 550 of Australasia’s foremost road safety professionals and advocates, and is deserved recognition of Professor Williamson’s profound commitment to the reduction of road trauma.

The award was presented by Hon Darren Chester, Federal Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, and ACRS President Mr Lauchlan McIntosh AM, during the 2016 Australasian Road Safety Conference (ARSC2016).


From left: Mr Lauhlan McIntosh AM, Professor Ann Williamson FACRS,
Hon Darren Chester MP (Federal Minister for Infrastructure and Transport)

In detailing the award, ACRS President Mr Lauchlan McIntosh AM, said “Professor Williamson continues to be an outstanding advocate for road safety both in our region and internationally.

"Professor Williamson has contributed enormously to excellence in road safety research and to providing a strong evidence base for effective road safety interventions. Her dedication to developing and sharing road safety knowledge has been shown through her tireless efforts to work collaboratively in the field with various injury prevention and accident research centres and researchers who work in the field of road safety".

Professor Williamson was the founding Director of the Injury Risk Management Research Centre and the Transport and Road Safety Research Centre and is Australia’s leading expert on driver fatigue and heavy vehicle safety.

Professor Williamson’s personal commitment has seen her contribute her own time to various road safety and injury prevention committees and to State and Federal Parliamentary road safety inquiries. She regularly engages with media on a range of road safety topics as an independent expert voice to help reduce road trauma. Professor Williamson has also contributed greatly to the development of the field through teaching, including PhD supervision.

“It is an honour to be awarded the ACRS Fellowship and I look forward to continuing to support the great work of the College as we aim to halve road deaths and injuries by 2020”, Professor Williamson said

With the 2016 award, Professor Williamson joins an elite group of eminent road safety professionals who have all been bestowed the honour of an ACRS Fellowship.  The College first instituted the award of Fellow in 1991 to enable colleagues to nominate a person recognised by their peers as outstanding in terms of their contributions to road safety. 


About the Australasian College of Road Safety (ACRS):  The Australasian College of Road Safety (ACRS) is the region’s peak membership association for road safety professionals, advocates, and members of the public who are focused on saving lives and serious injuries on our roads.  The College provides an inclusive, collaborative environment promoting communication, networking, professionalism & advocacy across all spheres of road safety – including policy, advocacy, research, innovation, technologies, name just a few.  ACRS membership includes experts from all areas of road safety: policy makers, academics, community organisations, researchers, federal, state and local government agencies, private companies and members of the public.

About the Australasian Road Safety Conference:  The 2016 Australasian Road Safety Conference is the result of a successful merger of Australasia’s two premier road safety conferences: the Australasian College of Road Safety Conference, and the Australasian Road Safety Research, Policing and Education Conference, and is managed by the Australasian College of Road Safety.

In 2016 the Conference is co-Hosted by the Australasian College of Road Safety, Austroads, and The George Institute for Global Health.

More information: Contacts:

Lauchlan McIntosh, ACRS National President         Mobile:  0418 424 886
Claire Howe, Executive Officer, ACRS                     Mobile:  0402 418 123


Copyright © ACRS All rights reserved.
Our mailing address is:
PO Box 198  MAWSON  ACT  2607
To contact the ACRS, please email

This email was sent to
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Australasian College of Road Safety · PO Box 198 · Mawson, Act 2607 · Australia