View this email in your browser

Reminder: Applications for the 2017 IEEE CSC Graduate Study Fellowship in Applied Superconductivity opened on November 1, 2016, and will be accepted until January 15, 2017.

Visit for the application, further information, and the list of past fellowship recipients.

Prize Items: Each IEEE CSC Graduate Study Fellowship in Applied Superconductivity will consist of:
  • an honorarium of US$ 5,000,
  • a suitably inscribed certificate,
  • and a complimentary membership (or renewal) in IEEE and one of CSC's sponsoring Societies.   
Description: The fellowship is awarded annually to a current full-time graduate student pursuing a Ph.D. (or equivalent) degree in the area of applied superconductivity, at an accredited college or university of recognized standing worldwide. The intention of the award is to encourage students to enter and contribute to the field of applied superconductivity.
Frequency: Annually, provided suitably qualified candidates are identified.

Funds: IEEE Council on Superconductivity will provide the funding for these awards:
  • Each Award will have an associated honorarium of US $5,000.
  • Funds for this award will be provided by the IEEE Council on Superconductivity.
  • The maximum number of awards in a given year will be determined by the number of highly qualified candidates and the total Fellowship budget provided by the Council on Superconductivity for that year.
  • The IEEE Council on Superconductivity’s budget will remain net positive with the inclusion of funding for these fellowships.
Administration: This award will be administered by the IEEE Council on Superconductivity.
Eligibility: To be eligible, the recipient must be pursuing full-time graduate work at an accredited college/university and pursuing or planning to pursue research activities in applied superconductivity.  The applicant must have majored in engineering, materials, chemistry, physics or a related area and have received a Bachelor's Degree or equivalent from an accredited college of recognized standing worldwide. Applicants are required to submit certified transcripts from all colleges/universities attended and three letters of recommendation from college/university professors familiar with the applicant's work.  Award recipients will be selected based on the quality of their prior work, the impact of their current research or the impact of their potential research in superconductivity, and their financial need. We expect to distribute the Awards equally across the electronics, materials and large-scale areas of superconductivity.  In addition, the awards will be distributed across a diverse range of universities or colleges in terms of applications and geographical location. The CSC Graduate Fellowship in Applied Superconductivity can be awarded to an individual no more than two times. The Eligibility and Selection process shall comply with procedures and regulation established in IEEE and Council governing documents, particularly with IEEE Policy 4.4 on Awards Limitations. 

Award Committee: The Graduate Fellowship Award Committee will consist of a Chair, appointed by the President of the Council on Superconductivity, and 7 members selected by the Chair, with the approval of the CSC President. The President of the IEEE Council on Superconductivity will be an ex-officio, non-voting member. The President may appoint additional non-voting ex-officio members. The voting members should have diverse backgrounds and be distributed both geographically and among the 3 categories: electronics, materials, and large-scale superconductivity.

Schedule: Applications must be received no later than January 15, 2017. The committee will review the proposals and make a decision. The successful applicants will be informed of the award at least 8 weeks prior to the event at which the award is to be presented so that they can attend and be recognized. It is not required that awardees attend the award event to receive the award.
Selection/Basis for Judging: Award recipients will be selected based upon, in rank order:  the quality of their prior work, the impact of their current research, the impact of their potential research in superconductivity, and their financial need. If a conflict of interest for any voting member or ex-officio member is identified with respect to an application for the award, such as an application from a student with institutional or familial ties to the member, the member shall excuse themselves from the selection process for the application.
If you have any questions, please contact the IEEE Council on Superconductivity Administrator, Jennifir McGillis at

Thank you and best regards,

Nate Newman
Educational Grants Chair
IEEE Council on Superconductivity

The Council on Superconductivity Awards Committee is pleased to congratulate once again the winners of the 2016 IEEE Council on Superconductivity Graduate Study Fellowship:

Nikolay Bykovsky, EPFL - Swiss Plasma Center
Meysam Heydari Gharahcheshmeh, University of Houston
Bethany Niedzielski, Michigan State University
Max Sieger, Leibniz Institute for Solid State & Materials Research (IFW) Dresden
Jeroen van Nugteren, University of Twente
Xiaohang Zhang, University of Colorado / NIST

2016 Awardees from L to R: Meysam Heydari Gharahcheshmeh, Bethany Niedzielski, Max Sieger, Jeroen van Nugteren, and Xiaohang Zhang.
In front of awardees is Kathleen Amm, IEEE CSC Graduate Study Fellowship Award Committee Member, ASC 2016 General Chair

We are very pleased to see that this Fellowship, in such a short time since its inception, has become a very competitive and important award.

Congratulations to all of the 2016 winners!

Copyright © IEEE Council on Superconductivity, All rights reserved. 2016.
You are receiving this email due to your relationship and interactions with the IEEE CSC and/or IEEE CSC & ESAS Superconductivity News Forum.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences