Deep Valley Book Festival Exhibitor E-News - July 1, 2016
View this email in your browser

Thank you for participating in the 2016


On behalf of the Betsy-Tacy Society, I’d like to thank you for participating in the 2016 Deep Valley Book Festival. The positive response and attendance from so many authors is very exciting! Many thanks to all the authors and volunteers who helped make this event happen! Photographs were taken by DVBF volunteer Vanda Galen and have been posted on the Betsy-Tacy Society and the Deep Valley Book Festival facebook pages. We invite you to share these on your facebook page to promote the event.

~ Julie Schrader, Deep Valley Homecoming coordinator


We apologize that
the air conditioning
was not sufficient
in the back of the
pavilion building to
make the day more
comfortable for you. 


We Need Your Comments

In order to help us prepare for a future book festival, we need your feedback! Please cut and paste this section in an email and send your comments to the following questions:

Overall, how would you rate your experience at the Deep Valley Homecoming? Please explain your rating.
1 = Unsatisfied
2 = Somewhat unsatisfied
3 = Satisfied
4 = Good experience
5 = Great experience
Ideas or suggestions for future festival?
Do you feel the space fee was fair?
Were you satisfied with book sales?
Would you attend the 2016 festival if the date worked in your schedule?
Would you refer other authors or illustrators?

Volunteer Recognition

The Betsy-Tacy Society
thanks the
many dedicated volunteers who helped
make this book festival possible:

Ron Affolter
Les & Patty Biesterfeld
Dennis Dieken
Vanda Galen
Daryl Hrdlicka
Anne Knewtson
Dani Kroon
Julia Lee - Waseca Public Library
Stacy Lienemann
Arnie Lillo
Mankato Free Press
Michelle May
James Olson
Tom Salsbery
Julie Schrader
Ken Schrader
Bryce Stenzel
Sarah Urban
Susan Wagenhals
Eileen Wells
Andrea White - Janesville Public Library
LaRae & Robyn - Barnes & Noble River Hills Mall

Panel Moderators - Rachael Hanel and Matthew White

Author Panel members: Eileen Beha, Polly Carlson-Voiles, Norman Draper, Gordon Fredrickson, Kristen Heimerl, Patrick Mader, Sheryl Peterson, Bryce Stenzel, Faith Sullivan and Laurie Wetzel.

Deep Valley Writer Competition Judges: Sisters in Ink members - Kirsten Croon-Mills, Rebecca Fjelland Davis, Rachael Hanel, Kandi Heenan, and Shelley Tougas.


Help us build our mailing list.
Please share this newsletter
with your interested literary friends.

Congratulations to the 1st Place Winners of the
Deep Valley Writer Competition 

First Place in the Age 8-10 category: 
Eva Madelyn James for her story, "Ms. Butter and the Big Rock"
First Place in the Age 11-13 category:
Rachel Evans for her story "Courage to Speak". 

Thank you to the judges from Sisters in Ink: Rachael Hanel, Kirstin Cronn-Mills, Shelley Tougas, Kandi Heenan, and Rebecca Fjelland Davis. 
Maud Hart Lovelace
Author of six historical fiction novels and eighteen children's books, is internationally known for the Betsy-Tacy children's books. The Betsy-Tacy books were set in her hometown of Mankato, MN (fictional Deep Valley). Maud's (Betsy) childhood home and the childhood home of her best friend Frances Kenney (Tacy) in Mankato is owned by the Betsy-Tacy Society and are listed as National Literary Landmarks.  
Copyright © 2016 Betsy-Tacy Society, All rights reserved.

You are receiving this email because you are a friend of the
Deep Valley Book Festival or the Betsy-Tacy Society.

Our mailing address is:
Betsy-Tacy Society
P.O. Box 94
Mankato, MN 56002-0094

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

This email was sent to <<Email Address>>
why did I get this?    unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences
Betsy Tacy Society · PO Box 94 · Mankato, MN 56001 · USA

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp