Deuss Music signs leading Flemish Composer
Deuss Music is pleased to announce a new publishing agreement with Flemish composer Annelies Van Parys, effective immediately. The music of Annelies Van Parys (1975) is characterized by her interest and exploration into the sensation of sound and the listeners’ experience of those sensations. Her works includes chamber music for various combinations of instruments, works for acoustic and electronic instruments, five orchestral works, six works for music theatre, numerous art songs and many successful arrangements. She is also the Honorary Ambassador to the Royal Conservatory of Ghent, Belgium.
Van Parys's work as an arranger has garnered favourable reactions. Belgian newspaper De Standaard praised her orchestration of Debussy's Pelléas et Mélisand: "Her arrangement, with its glorious role for the harmonium, is a wonder”. Following a performance of Fragrances by the New York New Music Ensemble, music journalist Alex Ross wrote: "Van Parys is new to me: audio samples on her website suggest that she is a remarkable talent". 
Annelies Van Parys has been composer in residence with the international production house  Muziektheater Transparant since 2007. This collaboration has resulted in RUHE  (with Collegium vocal Ghent), a work that has been performed more then 100 times around the globe. Other works created in co-production with Muziektheater Transparant include Index of Memories (with the former VocaalLAB), An Oresteia (with Asko|Schönberg) as well as her chamber music arrangement of Debussy's Pelléas et Mélisande (with Oxalys). Her recent opera Private View was made as a co-production with Muziektheater Transparant, Opera Vlaanderen, the Deutsche Oper Berlin, Bergen National Opera (Norway) and Asko|Schönberg. 
Van Parys's works have been performed by all the major Belgian ensembles and orchestras, including Ictus, Nadar, Spectra, Oxalys, the Belgian National Orchestra and the Royal Flemish Philharmonic. International ensembles such as SMCQ in Montreal, Cantus in Zagreb, NYNME in New York and Recherche in Freiburg have also performed her works, which have been conducted by Otto Tausk, Sian Edwards, James Wood and Arturo Tamayo among others.
Van Parys's work has received numerous awards including the Prix Quebec Flandres, and both the Jeugd en Muziek en Gebroeders Darche prizes. Her most recent opera, Private View, received the SABAM Prize for best contemporary classical work in 2015, and was selected by an international jury for the prestigious "Rolf Liebermann Fedora Prize for Opera"; the work has been cited as “outstanding” by the Berlin-based music theatre network Music Theatre NOW.

Upcoming performances:
3 Liederen Duparc/Van Parys (arr.)
22 February 2016, performed by Oxalys, Konzerthaus, Berlin

And Thou must Suffer, a prologue and epilogue to J.S. Bach's Saint John Passion
10, 11 and 12 March 2016, performed by B'Rock and Wroclaw Chamber Choir conducted by Andreas Spering, Kaaitheater, Brussels, Klara Festival. This production will then go on tour

Chansons d'Auvergne Canteloube/Van Parys (arr.)
15 March 2016, performed by Oxalys, CC, Hasselt 

Cello Quartet (2016, world premiere)
22 March 2016 at 8.00 PM, performed by the Wroclaw Cello Quartet, Bozar, Brussels. This concert will be broadcast live on Klara; this production will then go on tour

Parcours (2011) for recorder, water and live electronics
25 March 2016 at 8.00 PM, performed by Jan Van Hoecke (recorder) and Studio Champ D'Action, in cooperation with visual artist Anneleen de Causmaecker, Bijloke, Ghent __________________________________________________________________
Niet voor publicatie: voor meer informatie graag contact opnemen met Alejandra Castro of +31 (0)70 3450865.

photo: Trui Hanoulle
Copyright © 2016 Deuss Music - Albersen Verhuur bv, All rights reserved.
Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp