CELM e-News  December 2016
View this email in your browser

Centre for Early Learning in Medicine Newsletter December 2016

Welcome to the Centre for Early Learning in Medicine Newsletter • December 2016

In the last issue for the year, we would like to thank the staff who are leaving or moving to other roles in the Otago Medical School for their contribution and wish the students a relaxing break over the summer. Farewell to the third year students commencing their Advanced Learning in Medicine programmes at one of the three schools in 2017. 

Thankyou to all the staff who have contributed to the ELM Programme over the year; we wish everyone a very happy and safe Christmas and New Year. 

Staff news

Farewell to Julia Wilson who leaves the ELM programme at the end of the year to take up a post-doctoral research position. Julia joined the Otago Medical School in 2013, to tutor in ELM and most recently held the role of Lead Tutor for the Integrated Case Programme. Julia has contributed greatly to the cases and successfully taught across the ELM programme in Cases and EPE. She also provided the support for tutors and others involved in teaching the module as a Lead Tutor. Julia also assisted with student support initiatives for medical students and other groups within the Health Sciences Division. We wish Julia all the very best in her future career at the University.

Jude Mahood has been appointed to the role of Lead tutor for Year three, Integrated Cases. Jude has considerable experience in teaching in the programme, and we are very pleased to have her take up this important role.

Welcome back to Georgina McArthur, who returns from parental leave to a new role as Administrator for the Friends of the Medical School. Georgina was previously administrator of EPE Year 3. The new position will focus on further expanding and promote the Friends organisation to ensure there is a strong engagement with this group who kindly give up their time to meet with the Year 2/3 students either in their own homes or here at the medical school. The Friends of the Medical School was formed in 2008 and has grown over the years providing community-based based learning opportunities for the ELM students in years 2/3. A reception and information session is planned early in 2017. Georgina can be contacted for information relating to the Friends at

We are very pleased to have Rosie Dunn continue in her role as administrator of EPE Year 3.

Welcome also to Erin Flannery, who is the new OMS receptionist and accounts person here in the Sayers Building. Erin has worked for the University for a number of years, including the department of medicine, DSM.  Erin has taken over from Tanya Lyders, who has transferred to a job within the University. Tanya was farewelled recently and we wish her all the best in her new role.

Congratulations to two of the professional staff who were jointly awarded the CELM award for their contribution to the ELM Programme. Jude Hodge and Anne-Marie Patterson were presented with the award at the Year three prizes event recently. The award recognises their service to students, staff and ensuring the programme runs as smoothly as it does.
OUMSA Staff Student Awards 2016

Best Programme Year 3 went to Clinical Skills

OUSA Teaching Awards 2016

OMS and CELM teaching staff were honoured recently in the annual teaching awards ceremony. Recipients this year included staff members who contribute to the ELM Programme. The top winners this year were;

OUSA Teaching Awards category winners:

Top Teacher 2016:
Dr. Annika Bokor (Biochemistry)

Runner-up Top Teacher 2016:
Dr. Matt Bevin (Physiology)

Top Five Teacher 2016:
Marcelo Rodriguez Ferrere (Law)

Top Five Teacher 2016:
Dr. Brad Hurren (Anatomy)

Top Five Teacher 2016:
Dr. Shyamal Das (Pharmacy)

Top Tutor/Lab Demonstrator 2016:
Dr. Brad Hurren (Anatomy)

Disability Awareness and Inclusive Teaching Award:
Mr. Tony Zaharic (Biochemistry)

Dr. Alfie Blakey,  Professional Practice Fellow, and tutor for ELM, was placed in the top 4 tutor - demonstrator at the OUSA awards this year. Congratulations to those recognised for their outstanding teaching abilities this year.
The ELM year three class was privileged to have Associate Professor and previous Director of ELM, Dr. David Perez address them in their last whole class session before their final exams. As this year's ELM inspirational speaker to the third years, David spoke about the various aspects of the medical profession that make it both a rewarding but also challenging profession to be part of. Our thanks to David for taking the time to reflect on his many year's experiences as a consultant clinician and teacher in medical education and clinical work here in Dunedin.  

Launch of the School of Biomedical Sciences - BMS

Staff and students from across the Division of Health Sciences were invited to the launch of the newly named School of Biomedical Sciences, or BMS for short. Previously known as the Otago School of Medical Sciences, the new name reflects the wide range of contributing departments to the School and follows the re-naming of the Faculty of Medicine to Otago Medical School. Guests were treated to a range of food with a biomedical twist and entertainment by local Kapa Haka group. Dean of BMS Professor Vernon Ward and others spoke of the large contribution the school makes to the Division and University.
Further information:
Merry Christmas from the Centre for ELM

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp