Media release from Grain Producers SA.
View this email in your browser
Thursday, August 4, 2016
Wade to take over reins as chairman of GPSA
Parilla grain producer Wade Dabinett will be the new chairman of Grain Producers SA, taking over from inaugural chairman Garry Hansen who will retire from the position.
Mr Dabinett joined the GPSA board in May 2014 and has been vice-chairman since the 2015 AGM. He also chairs GPSA’s Transport and Supply Chain Sub-Committee.
As a young grain producer, Mr Dabinett says he is hoping his involvement in the GPSA Board and now as chairman will encourage other young producers to consider being part of the organisation and its sub-committees.
“I think there’s a missing generation of farmers – those in their 30s and 40s – who aren’t engaging in advocacy anymore,” he said.
“Advocacy has been the poor cousin to research and development and I certainly think it warrants more time and investment. Hopefully I can encourage those guys who have been focused on production and farming systems groups in the past to become involved in advocacy and post-farm gate issues which impact all producers.
“I have had an introduction to what is involved in my position as vice-chairman and through being mentored by Garry. I’m at a stage of life where I can commit the time to a role such as chairman and I’m looking forward to getting started and working with growers across the state.”
Mr Dabinett returned to his family farm in 2011 to help run the growing business, including 4500 hectares of crops as well as potatoes and livestock, with his brother Nick and sister-in-law Emma and parents Russell and Leanne.
With experience in the grain trading, storage and handling industry, he is keen for other growers, particularly young farmers, to gain skills in grain selling and business management.
Mr Dabinett takes over the role at the GPSA Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, August 10, at the EP Field Days. Mr Hansen has stepped back to be a director of GPSA. He was re-elected in the recent nomination process, along with Stephen Ball, Riverton, and David Malpas at Lucindale.
Mr Hansen became the inaugural chairman when GPSA was established in December 2011. He was approached by the late Jeff Arney and former Grains Council of Australia president John Lush to take on the role.
“Both of them had put a lot of their own time and effort into advocacy and I would like to acknowledge the amount of work they put in to help develop GPSA as a new organisation,” he said.
“I was quite honoured to be asked. We were creating a new brand for the work of the former SA Farmers Federation Grains Council in a completely new organisation.”
Mr Hansen said GPSA had been – and continues to be – very successful and had a number of runs on the board on behalf of SA grain producers.
“Our success is really due to the board member’s commitment and passion for the industry. A very special thanks goes to our CEO Darren Arney. He was on board before I got there, he put a huge amount of work in and continues to do so. All the staff members have continued to contribute with great dedication.”
Mr Hansen says some of the highlights during his time as chairman included:
  • Working with bulk handlers and Grain Trade Australia to upgrade the quality classification of Scout wheat from APW to AH. The upgrade equated to millions of dollars extra for SA growers.
  • With the help of Primary Producers SA, approaching the State Government to develop the 90-day transport project identifying transport hotspots around the state.
  • The signing of a new SA Grain Industry Trust deed to update and modernise the current agreement and the appointment of three new group A trustees and a group B trustee.
  • Representing growers in negotiations on long-term port access agreements with the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission and making changes that would help grain producers.
  • Creating sub-committees allowing involvement from many other growers and spreading the input into policy around the state.
“The ASAP committee is a key example of this and has tackled competing land use as an issue for grain production. I’d like to acknowledge the commitment of Max Wilksch, who recently retired from GPSA, as a strong advocate on these cross-commodity issues," Mr Hansen said.
“We’ve also strongly committed to Grain Producers Australia and its Grain Policy Council which allows us to participate in advocacy at a national level. I’m also pleased with the continued success of the new advocacy structure in Primary Producers SA and the united partnership of the commodity groups involved.
“I really encourage all producers to stay in touch with the important work that GPSA and PPSA do on your behalf. It’s vital that we have a strong voice working on our behalf in this state.”

For interviews:

Wade Dabinett, Incoming Chairman, 0408 686 092.
Garry Hansen, Retiring Chairman, 0427 390 626.

For a high resolution image, please email Deanna Lush

For more information on Grain Producers SA and its policies, visit or get in touch on 08 8391 6621 or email

About Grain Producers SA:
Grain Producers SA is a not-for-profit organisation that represents all levy-paying grain producers in South Australia. GPSA’s objective is to foster the development and implementation of policies that promote the economic and environmental sustainability of the South Australian grains industry for the benefit of its producers and the wider community. Growers are encouraged to have their say on policy and have input on the people who represent them.


This email was sent by Deanna Lush, AgCommunicators Pty Ltd, on behalf of Grain Producers SA.

AgCommunicators Pty Ltd
272 Magill Road
Beulah Park, SA 5067

Add us to your address book

unsubscribe from this list  

Email Marketing Powered by MailChimp