NZBEF eNews - December 2016
View this email in your browser
NZ Business Excellence Foundation News

2017 - a New Year with a new criteria and new opportunities to achieve excellence!

The Business Excellence Awards are the most prestigious and rigorous business awards undertaken in New Zealand.

They are non-competitive and assessed against the internationally calibrated framework - the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence.

This usually takes place as the ‘check’ step of an organisational continuous improvement programme, but can be undertaken at any time.

The Awards recognise an organisation's commitment to excellence and its journey towards world-class practices, but they also provide vital feedback which forms part of the input to the next cycle of improvement.  

These Awards are one of the most comprehensive reviews an organisation can receive. They let you, your staff, your customers and the public know your organisation is among the very best in the world.

There are several levels of achievement you can strive for in the New Zealand Business Excellence Awards programme:

  • New Zealand Business Excellence Award
    1. Gold
    2. Silver
    3. Bronze
  • New Zealand Business Achievement Award
  • New Zealand Business Excellence Category Awards
    1. Customer Excellence
    2. Workforce Excellence
    3. Operational Excellence

New Zealand Business Excellence Award

The Business Excellence Awards are based on the comprehensive Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence, which is used and bench-marked worldwide.

Organisations that apply for these awards undergo a rigorous, four-stage, team-based evaluation that offers an invaluable feedback report and significant validation of effort.

There are four levels of award that applicants can achieve – Commitment, Bronze, Silver and Gold.

New Zealand Business Achievement Award

The Business Achievement Awards are based on the Baldrige Excellence Builder, which is a less detailed version of the Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence. As such, these awards are ideal for SMEs or for larger organisations to use as a starting point in their journey towards business improvement.

New Zealand Business Excellence Category Awards

These awards recognise your first steps on the journey to performance excellence.  

Focus the microscope on your customer, workforce or operational processes and results, and celebrate the hard work and tangible successes you're achieving in these key areas of your business, preparing you to take those next crucial steps towards total alignment of your business processes.

To register your expression of interest and discuss your options further, please contact Ian Ris on 09 489 8792  or

Key NZBEF dates (to June 2017)

  • Expression of Interest for Awards                       24 February
  • Expressions of Interest from Evaluators             17 March
  • National Evaluator training                             15-19 May
  • Evaluator Team selection                                     26 May
  • Award Application close-off                                    2 June
  • Evaluator Team Leads confirm teams                    9 June

Happy holidays!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year's from the New Zealand Business Excellence team!

Visit our website!
Copyright © 2016 New Zealand Business Excellence Foundation, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list